Curriculum Vitae
of Professor Janitha Abeywickrema Liyanage

proposed by the Government of Sri Lanka as the next Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka to the Russian Federation



Prof. Janitha Abewickrema Liyanage was born on 28 May 1963. Graduated with honours from Sri Jayawardenepura University, Sri Lanka in 1991 with a Special Bachelor's Degree in Chemistry and a second class upper division honours degree in Zoology as a subsidiary subject. She obtained her PhD in Chemistry from Cardiff University of Wales in 1996, specialising in bio-inorganic chemistry, with a thesis on "Analysis and determination of trace metals in wounds".


In 1999-2000, D. A. Liyanage did her postdoctoral research at the Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute, Department of Environmental Studies; in 2004, at the University of Adelaide, Australia; and in 2005, at the Department of Chemistry at Cardiff University in Wales.

She has received the Presidential Award for Scientific Research in 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, and 2014 and many other academic awards. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), and Institute of Chemistry (Ceylon). She is a Chartered Scientist and Chartered Chemist (UK), Member of the Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science and Sri Lanka Institute of Ayurveda and Traditional Medicines.

Prof. Janitha Abewickrema Liyanage has authored two monographs, three books and hand-books, co-authored two books published by reputed publishers and authored over forty articles in refereed journals. Prof. D.A. Liyanage has received more than twenty national and foreign research grants, registered four patents, and presented papers at more than 180 conferences.

At various times, Prof. D.A. Liyanage has been a Council Member of the Sri Lanka Standards Institute and the Institute of Chemistry of Ceylon, member of the Board of Directors of the Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Authority, President, Chemical Sciences, of the Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science, and General President of the Association.


Positions held:


April – December 1991                 — Assistant lecturer, Department of Chemistry, University of Kelaniya,
                                                            University of Sri Jayawardenepura.
December 1991 – December 1996 — Lecturer, Department of Chemistry,
                                                             University of Kelaniya.
December 1996 – December 2007  — Senior lecturer, Department of  Chemistry, University of Kelaniya.
December 2007 – December 2015  — Professor in Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, University of Kelaniya.
October 2008 – December 2015     — Director, Gampaha Wickramarchchi Ayurveda Institute.
January 2017 – January 2020          — Head of Department of Chemistry, University of Kelaniya.
From December 2015                     — Senior Professor in Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, University of

December 2019 – March 2021        — Competent Authority, Gampaha Wickramarchchi Ayurveda Institute.
January 2020 – March 2021             — Vice Chairperson, University Grants Commission.
From March 2021                            — Vice Chancellor, Gampaha Wickramarchchi University of Indigenous